Poem for April 17, 2015

4-17 CollageApril 17, 2015
Friday evening – Home
Cloudy, rain on and off, upper 50ºs

Walking through the park this morning, I discovered which bird has been singing that song I’ve been hearing the last few weeks. It is the white throated sparrow. My recollection is that these birds overwinter here then leave in the spring. Why are they singing their mating calls now? Do they find a mate before they head north? Will need to look into that. Dad may know.

Spoke with Jane today. Of the many things we discussed, I told her of my frustration with the two glossy squares I get each day. They don’t hold the color or take the colored pencil. She suggested that I try Caran d’Arche Neocolor II water soluble crayons or Cretacolor Aqua Stic w. s. oil pastels. She also reminded me that my goal this month was to spend just a half hour a day on the journal with the purpose of creating a poem. Guess I just can’t help wanting to add more to the page.

Selected words:
promising
children
mountains
youthful
voices
visible
rising
air
hear

4-17 PoemWe draw near enough now
for the mountains
to become visible on the horizon.
We hear the youthful voices of
children rising in the air.
Both promising a day
of delight.

About Lily Roberts

Lily Roberts is the fictional author of the fake journal found on this blog.
This entry was posted in art, art journal, fake journal. Bookmark the permalink.