Poem for April 3, 2015

4-3 CollageApril 3, 2015
Rainy, warm and foggy today. Mid 60ºs. No classes today. Took the train to Tom and Megan’s. Made nut rolls with Tom and Abbie.

Selected words:
health
farmers
comforting
right
spring
circumstances
strangely
planet
family

4-3 PoemComforting

So comforting to have
family
and health
Circumstances change
Spring comes and goes
This planet keeps spinning
Farmers plow and sow
How strangely wonderful
That all can be right
in this moment

I brought my watercolor case and Derwent pencil tins along with the journal. I like coloring in the squares as the selected words circulate in my head. It is meditative.

It is interesting that the poems I wrote yesterday and just now somehow reflect the days I had. I would not have thought that they could be so personal (if not 100% true) from randomly selected words. Did my brain subconsciously choose the words that most describe what is percolating inside? Will see if this continues to be the case.

About Lily Roberts

Lily Roberts is the fictional author of the fake journal found on this blog.
This entry was posted in art journal, fake journal, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poem for April 3, 2015

  1. Dana says:

    I like how you’ve set this up as both a daily journal and poetry practice. Your comment about the synchronicity of your chosen words and your day is fascinating. Very nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cathy Sutton says:

    I love the format of your entries. Very cool way to write poetry. Your blog entries are sou thing.

    Like

Comments are closed.